Oh Seattle

10 12 2009

Anthony Santana
This past weekend I visited Seattle to see the San Francisco 49ers play the Seattle Seahawks. This was the first time I’ve been to Seattle, and what I noticed besides the freezing temperatures and the beautiful views was the lack of diversity. I sometimes forget one of the best things about living in San Francisco is the variety of cultural backgrounds there are here. It took going to Seattle to open my eyes to this fact. It was weird to sit at the Seahawks stadium and see only white people. For some reason I always hate being in this position. Yes, I consider myself white, but being surrounded by only white people tells me there might be something wrong with the city of Seattle. Diversity is awesome, a mixture of cultures allows us to learn from one another and realize how much more we have in common than different. This is why I choose to live in San Francisco, I love to learn from people different than myself. Unfortunately, for Seattle there wasn’t much teaching going on, just the same old boring dialogue…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

