API Wellness Center 1

8 12 2009

For this semester, I had volunteered at a community center in San Francisco, CA. API Wellness Center is a place that focuses on HIV and sex health in Asian Americans and Pacific Islander communities. During my time volunteering at the API Wellness Center, I really didn’t know what to expect. What I basically did was paperwork and sorting out condoms and lubricants pretty much. The paperwork was basically an evaluation form for the Center’s services and I just had to take those papers and fill them in on the computer. Things on the evaluation survey inquired about their age, how they felt about the programs and how it could be improved in any way, what nationality or ethnicity they were, and so on and so forth. I didn’t expect much, however, because coming into the program I had figured that I’d be working with a lot of younger/middle-aged Asian people who were clients of the Wellness Center. But as I was doing the paperwork, I noticed that there were a few Caucasians who were actually in the program, and I found that kind of strange because this is an Asian and Pacific Islander Wellness Center and I hadn’t expected to see any of their clients to be of white descent. However, I thought this also wouldn’t be anything much because I have met a lot of people who are not of Asian descent who were born in places like Japan and China and consider themselves to be Asian. This may have been one of those occasions.

-Gen Iseri

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

