Filipino Pride

10 11 2009

From what we see on TV, Filipinos are commonly seen as targets of oppression, poverty, natural calamities, etc. It is pretty devastating seeing our fellowmen go through all these challenges throughout their life. On the brighter side are Filipino Olympians and athletes that every single Filipino take pride with. For instance would be Manny “Pacman” Pacquiao. The world knows who he is, and being Filipino, it gives me pride knowing that he is Filipino.

From what I’ve noticed, a lot of the news nowadays go over all the worst things we can think of that can happen to all aspects of life, wherever nation you may be living in. Watching The Filipino Channel, I noticed a lot of news programs talking about issues within the corrupt government, scarcity of oil, as well as the exponential rising in prices for all necessities. As a Filipino, I feel empathy for those who are going  through those tribulations back home.

On the brighter side are news that involve Filipino athletes and Olympians, all over the world competing for the Philippine nation. Honestly, I myself take a lot of pride for being Filipino, knowing that several of our athletes in the Philippines are world renowned and therefore, give back honor to our country. I remember the sense of passion, that pride and honor that I feel deep inside my heart everytime I watch Manny Pacquiao defeat and knock out his opponents. I feel that rush within my veins, the warm blood flowing throughout my body, screaming at the top of my lungs! I’m very proud to be Filipino!

Relating this to all the issues in the Philippines, I believe news regarding the glory and honor that these Filipino athletes and Olympians bring to the Philippines does make a whole difference with the countrymen’s morale, state of mind and ambition. It just shows how even something like having Filipinos going overseas to defeat competitors from different nations can bring up hearts and drives forth strength to the Filipino community. I can’t wait until Pacman wins this Saturday, Nov. 14!!!!

 

-Justine Encarnacion

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

