Thoughts About The Class

21 10 2009

When I signed up for Knowledge Activism, I had next to no idea what type of class it was going to be. Essentially, I thought that it would be a decent way to spend an hour a week and fulfill my service learning requirement. During the first class, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that not only would I end the semester with a core requirement, but also with an in-depth knowledge of Philippine history and culture in both the Philippines and America. Also, I will gain a strong grasp of what it means to be a part of a culture and learn more about identities. I had a very limited knowledge base regarding the Filipino population and am glad that I have the opportunity to learn more about it. Thus far, I have been provoked to question many aspects of my own culture, history, and identity. Even though I don’t have any personal connection to the Philippines, I feel as if the class provides enough cultural connections that I can relate to the hard-ships that Filipinos and Filipinas experience today and the ones that occurred in history. All in all, I am looking forward to the rest of the semester and getting to volunteer in the community!

Marisah Garcia

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

